14th April 2020

Disabled Water Ski Australia (DWSA) is very excited to host the 2021 IWWF World Disabled Water Ski Championships at the Bridgewater Water Ski Club and welcome the best disabled skiers in the world to visit Australia in February 2022, said DWSA Chairman Glen Sidman as well as Jason Sleep, Chairman of the Local Organising Committee.

Bridgewater Water Ski Club

The Bridgewater Water Ski Club was formed on September 13 1960, and is one of the oldest water ski clubs in Australia. The Club focuses on providing facilities that foster and promote 3-event tournament water skiing. The club is made up of members who love Bridgewater, our site and our sport of 3 event tournament skiing.

Located on the Loddon River at Bridgewater the club has a slalom course and Jump located in a special purpose zone situated just down from the bridge and the town. The river course is just so orientated that it provides a well-protected tournament water ski site.

During the summer we host tournaments being in December and March and the Australian Masters Water Ski Championships in January. We are proud to host the 2021 IWWF Disabled World Water Ski Championships in February 2022.

Bridgewater on Loddon is 172 Kilometres from Melbourne and 43 Kilometres west of Bendigo on the Calder Highway. The town of Bridgewater boasts one the best bakeries in Australia, world class wineries and a fair dinkum Aussie country pub.

The club is frequented by international, national and disabled skiers, who come here to train and also prepare for major events such as the Moomba Masters.

Jason Sleep – Australia

We are fully supported by our shire council who manage the water way and we are very conscious of continuing this relationship and work closely with the council to ensure that all users are aware of the unique facility that we provide, the on water facilities on the river and the special rules that apply to water skiing and boating on the river.

The Event has the full support of the Water Ski & Wakeboard Federation Australia (WAWA) who is the Governing Body for water skiing and wakeboarding in Australia. WAWA has been structured as a sports discipline based organisation that reflects the operation of the sport within all States. The sports disciplines currently comprise the Divisions of Tournament, Barefoot, Disabled, Show Skiing, Wakeboard and Cable Wakeboard (interim). Knee Boarding is represented in some States but not as a separate Division within WAWA. WAWA represent over 5,000 registered competitive participants from a total social skier base of over 1.3 million and is recognised as the peak body for water skiing and wakeboarding by the Australian Sports Commission.  WAWA is an affiliate member of the International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (IWWF).

* the 2021 IWWF World Disabled Water Ski Championships has since been rescheduled to 21st to 27th March 2022  (tentative date)

About the IWWF:  The International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (IWWF) is the world governing body for towed watersports and has over 90 affiliated Federations worldwide. It was founded in 1946 in Geneva, Switzerland. It is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the sole authority for towed watersports. The IWWF is an affiliate member of the Association of IOC Recognized International Sports Federation (ARISF) and the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF). The IWWF’s sports disciplines include, amongst others, Tournament Waterskiing (slalom, tricks & jump), Wakeboard, Cable Wakeboard, Cable Waterskiing, Disabled Waterskiing, Show Skiing, Ski Racing, Barefoot Waterskiing & Wakesurfing

Official Hashtag:

Social Media & Other Important Links:

IWWF’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iwwfed/
IWWF’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IWWFED
IWWF’s Website:  www.iwwf.sport