13th December 2019

Pato Font - Mexico

Mexico's 17-year-old waterskiing star Patricio Font was named as the men's NextGen winner, the prize awarded to the best athlete under-20, at the at the inaugural Panam Sports Awards.

By winning the men's trick competition at Lima 2019, Font became Mexico's youngest Pan American Games champion in history.

Carl Lewis, the former men's 100m world record-holder and nine-times Olympic gold medalist.  He was named winner of the Panam Sports Legend Award. having competed for the first time at the Pan American Games in 1979, 40 years before Pato Font won his first gold medal!

Related News:
4th December 2019
Pato Font Breaks 12,000 Points!

About the IWWF:  The International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (IWWF) is the world governing body for towed watersports and has over 90 affiliated Federations worldwide. It was founded in 1946 in Geneva, Switzerland. It is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the sole authority for towed watersports. The IWWF is an affiliate member of the Association of IOC Recognized International Sports Federation (ARISF) and the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF). The IWWF’s sports disciplines include, amongst others, Tournament Waterskiing (slalom, tricks & jump), Wakeboard, Cable Wakeboard, Cable Waterskiing, Disabled Waterskiing, Show Skiing, Ski Racing, Barefoot Waterskiing & Wakesurfing

Official Hashtag:

Social Media & Other Important Links:

IWWF’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iwwfed/
IWWF’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IWWFED
IWWF's Website:  www.iwwf.sport