22nd October 2018

Guy Firer (ISR) Men’s Cable Wakeboard Champion – photo by David Crowder

The 49th IWWF World Cup Stop ended today in Shanghai, China with the finals at the Bi Hai Jin Sha Water Park.

The Shanghai Bihai Sands Investment Development Co. Ltd, supported by the local municipality and tourism department, organised its 3rd IWWF Cable World Cup stop with  30 Cable Wakeboard Athletes and 20 Cableski Athletes competing for USD100,000.00 in prize money.

Defending IWWF Shanghai World Cup Champion, winner of the IWWF Ayla Jordan World Cup stop and IWWF Female Cable Wakeboard Athlete of the Year Julia Rick from Germany stamped her authority in the women’s cable wakeboard final final by landing a 313, Back Mobe 5, S-Bend to Blind, Front Flip to Blind and Toeside Backside 540 off the kicker.  15-year Aurelie Godet from France impressed everyone on the dock by landing a Back Mobe, Toeside Backside 540, Front Flip to Blind and impessive hits on the features for her first podium finish (2nd) ahead of Sanne Meijer (3rd) from the Netherlands.

Guy Firer (ISR) won his first IWWF World Cup stop in with a spectacular performance in the Men’s Cable Wakeboard Final landing his signature trick the Firer Attack (S-Bend Backside 540), Back Mobe 5, Toeside Backside 900 & Toeside Backside 720 off the kicker, Skeezer and and 315 to edge out Hungary’s Oliver Orban and Germany’s Dominik Guhrs.

Irina Turets (BLR ) and Nikita Papakul (BLR) reclaimed their IWWF Shanghai World Cableski Cup jump titles with consistent jumping over both days.  The winners were the skiers with the longest aggregate jumps over two rounds of competition.

The IWWF awarded the female cableskiers and riders on the podium (top 3) with the same prize money as the men for the first time at an IWWF World Cup stop.

Final Results

Cableski Jump – Women
1. Irina Turets (BLR) 47.0 metres + 48.3 metres
2. Katsiaryna Kisialiova  (BLR) 38.9 metres + 42.9 metres
3. Veronika Cseploova  (SVK) 37.7 metres + 42.2 metres

Cableski Jump – Men
1. Nikita Papakul (BLR) 62.9 metres + 62.5 metres
2. Kamil Borysewicz  (POL) 61.6 metres + 63.2 metres
3. Alexander Vasko (SVK) 60.9 metres + 62.3 metres

Cable Wakeboard – Women
1. Julia Rick (GER)
2. Aurelie Godet (FRA)
3. Sanne Meijer (NED)

Cable Wakeboard – Men
1. Guy Firer (ISR)
2. Oliver Orban (HUN)
3. Dominik Guhrs (GER)

Full Results
Cableski Jump
Cable Wakeboard

photos by David Crowder

Official Hashtags:

Social Media & Other Important Links:

IWWF’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iwwfed/
IWWF’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IWWFED



About the IWWF:  The International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (IWWF) is the world governing body for towed watersports and has 91 affiliated Federations worldwide. It was founded in 1946 in Geneva, Switzerland. It is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the sole authority for towed watersports. The IWWF is an affiliate member of the Association of IOC Recognized International Sports Federation (ARISF) and the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF). The IWWF’s sports disciplines include, amongst others, Tournament Waterskiing (slalom, tricks & jump), Wakeboard, Cable Wakeboard, Cable Waterskiing, Disabled Waterskiing, Show Skiing, Ski Racing, Barefoot Waterskiing & Wakesurfing