19th August 2019

After capping off an incredible week of competition, the final day of competition at the 2019 IWWF Waterski World Championships was not going to disappoint. Held in scenic Putrajaya, the Ski Nautique was on hand to provide athletes from all across the globe with the perfect pulls across all disciplines.

Joel Howley (AUS) winning Australia’s first gold medal in men’s slalom since 1993

The day got underway with an exciting 3-way run-off for first place in the men’s slalom final between defending champion Freddie Winter (GBR), former champion Will Asher (GBR) and Joel Howley (AUS).  The last time an Australian won a men’s slalom gold medal was in 1993, on the Kallang River in Singapore, when Brett Thurley did his country proud.  History would repeat itself in Asia with Joel Howley being the only skier to run the 10.75 metre line, right off the dock, during the run-off to win the gold medal for Australia.

American waterskier Anna Gay pushed herself once again in the women’s trick final and claimed top spot on the podium with 10,530 points ahead of 2019 Pan Am Games women’s trick gold medalist Natalia Cuglievan (PER) 9,570 points and Giannina Bonnemann(GER) 8,740 points.

Australia’s Jacinta Carroll continued her reign at the top with her 4th consecutive IWWF women’s jump world title, making this her 40th consecutive event win in a row, with a 54.9 metre jump ahead of Hanna Straltsova (BRL) 53.5 metres and Regina Jaquess (USA) 51.2 metres.

During the men’s jump final, Canadian Ryan Dodd captured his 3rd IWWF world title in a row with a 67.9 metre jump ahead of  Felipe Miranda (CHI) 65.6 metres and  Joel Poland (GBR) 64.4 metres.

When it was all said and done in the women’s overall standings, it was Whitney McClintock-Rini who captured the top spot. “I’ve been waiting for this moment for 10 years. After injury and so many disappointments it was hard to believe it was possible to regain the IWWF World Overall Crown,” said Whitney McClintock-Rini.

Martin Kolman (CZE) won his very first world men’s overall title after a very hard fought battle against fellow country-man and former world overall champion Adam Sedlmajer and Joel Poland (GBR).

In addition to the individual overall medals being awarded during the final night banquet at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre, Canada was awarded the team overall title followed by France (2nd) and USA (third).

Women Overall Winners

Men’s Overall Winners

Team Overall Winners

About the IWWF:  The International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (IWWF) is the world governing body for towed watersports and has over 90 affiliated Federations worldwide. It was founded in 1946 in Geneva, Switzerland. It is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the sole authority for towed watersports. The IWWF is an affiliate member of the Association of IOC Recognized International Sports Federation (ARISF) and the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF). The IWWF’s sports disciplines include, amongst others, Tournament Waterskiing (slalom, tricks & jump), Wakeboard, Cable Wakeboard, Cable Waterskiing, Disabled Waterskiing, Show Skiing, Ski Racing, Barefoot Waterskiing & Wakesurfing

Official Hashtag:

Social Media & Other Important Links:

IWWF’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iwwfed/
IWWF’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IWWFED
IWWF’s Website:  www.iwwf.sport