5th March 2020

Skiers and riders throughout the Americas will now have something to look forward to following the definition of the sports that will be included in the Santiago 2023 Pan American Games by the Panam Sports Executive Committee.

28 Olympic sports along with Baseball/Softball, Karate, Roller Sports, Surfing and Waterski (3-event waterskiing & wakeboarding) were approved by the members of the Panam Sports Executive Committee at their meeting in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The leaders of Americas’ Olympic Movement united for their first meeting of the year at the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee, welcomed by President Sara Rosario for a productive week of discussions.  Among the many topics regarding the future of sport in the region, arguably the most important was the debate about which sports will be included in the Pan American Games of Santiago 2023.

Following in the footsteps of the IOC, the Pan American Sports Organization (Panam Sports) has taken the very difficult decision to maximize the resources of each Host Nation, approving the sport program of Santiago 2023 based on the realities and challenges of Chile. In accordance with Olympic Agenda 2020, Games should not require significant investment in resources and infrastructure that do not comply within the sustainable capabilities of the Host City.

The Executive Committee listened to the presentation of Santiago 2023 before holding a lengthy debate focused on the proposals offered by the Organizing Committee led by its President, Chilean Sports Minister Cecilia Perez.

The sports approved for the 2023 Pan American Games by the Executive Committee of Panam Sports were the following:
Athletics, Archery, Badminton, Baseball/Softball, Basketball, Boxing, Canoe, Cycling, Equestrian, Fencing, Golf, Gymnastics, Handball, Hockey, Judo, Karate, Modern Pentathlon, Roller Sports (Artistic Skating, Speed Skating and Skateboarding), Rowing, Rugby Sevens, Sailing, Soccer, Sport Shooting, Surfing, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon, Waterski (3-event waterskiing & wakeboarding), Weightlifting, Wrestling and Volleyball.

Related News

31st July 2019
Pan Am Games Gold Medals Awarded in Lima, Peru

About the IWWF:  The International Waterski & Wakeboard Federation (IWWF) is the world governing body for towed watersports and has over 90 affiliated Federations worldwide. It was founded in 1946 in Geneva, Switzerland. It is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the sole authority for towed watersports. The IWWF is an affiliate member of the Association of IOC Recognized International Sports Federation (ARISF) and the Global Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF). The IWWF’s sports disciplines include, amongst others, Tournament Waterskiing (slalom, tricks & jump), Wakeboard, Cable Wakeboard, Cable Waterskiing, Disabled Waterskiing, Show Skiing, Ski Racing, Barefoot Waterskiing & Wakesurfing

Official Hashtag:

Social Media & Other Important Links:

IWWF’s Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/iwwfed/
IWWF’s Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IWWFED
IWWF’s Website:  www.iwwf.sport